Destiny Beta Impressions

I was able to participate in the PS3 and Xbox One betas this past week and I have some thoughts about it. Just like what you’ve been thinking, they’re mostly all positive.

Destiny will be an amazing game. The beta was just enough to give me a real reaction to the full game to come, but left me wanting more. When I began to play the PS3 version, I noticed to graphics were very choppy around the edges. It just didn’t look as good as I feel it could have looked. The gameplay was very fun. It felt as if I was stuck in between a mix between Halo and Call of Duty, which it is exactly that. The enemies took the perfect amount of damage to make it fun but not overwhelming.

The Xbox One version looked incredible, which was only running at 900p. Bungie did say that the full game will run at full 1080p. The environment was breath-taking. I was able to play with a friend and chat on this version and didn’t experience any hiccups, which was strange because I fully anticipated crashes. I did get disconnected from multiplayer matches twice but that is normal during beta play.

Destiny is everything that I hoped it would be. I played as a Warlock and a Titan in both versions. Each had it’s own powers and upgrades unique to it’s own. I really enjoyed the melee and charge power from the Warlock class because it covers a wide range for damage. I liked the Titan class because of the more damage-controlled armor.

I thought the sparrows were super fun to drive and very convenient to get around big areas of the map. I liked how I could buy different versions with different paint jobs for the sparrow. The vehicles on the Moon multiplayer map were somewhat of a problem. Not so much the pike because it’s a fair vehicle, but the Interceptor. It was too powerful and people would drive it and park in the control zones and just blast away, which was a little ridiculous. I also wish we could see our names above our spaceships in orbit so everyone will know who’s cool ship that is.

The looting system had a very wide variety of guns and armor. I just can’t wait to play the full game so I can equip the high level supplies you find exploring and buying in the Tower. The Tower was a very cool little social hub for players to hang out and see what everyone has available.

I’m just a little worried that the game won’t be quite as big as everyone was thinking. Also I’m not sure what the story has in store for us because it didn’t seem too diverse from the campaign missions.

The Destiny beta was a sweet taste for what’s in store for us come September 9. Bungie did a fantastic job with this and they have my full confidence Destiny will be a great game.

Leave a comment